WHAT: Medal of Honor Ohio History Barn Unveiling
WHERE: 19691 US-68, Kenton, Ohio 43326
Barn owned by Arthur and Charlene Bingham
WHEN: Friday, October 12 at 3 p.m.*
MEDIA CONTACT: Stephen George, 614.425.6947
The public is invited to the unveiling of the barn mural honoring America’s first Medal of Honor recipient, Private Jacob Parrott. This mural, part of the Ohio History Barn program, is a partnership between the Ohio History Connection and the Hardin County Historical Museums, Inc.
Jacob Parrott (1843-1908) received the commendation on March 25, 1863 for his service the preceding year when he and others engaged in the Great Locomotive Chase during the Civil War.
Also known as Andrews’ Raid, Parrott and others commandeered a train—The General—north of Atlanta and used it to destroy and disrupt a rail line vital to the movement of Confederate troops and supplies. After 87 miles, the chase ended with the capture of the raiders. Parrott was imprisoned was released as part of a Prisoner Exchange with the Confederacy. Upon arrival to Washington DC, he, and the other Raiders who were part of the Prisoner Exchange, debriefed their experience to the US Army Judge Advocate. Upon receiving and reviewing the Judge Advocate report, War Secretary Edwin Stanton awarded the first Medal of Honor to Jacob Parrott. The other five Raiders present were also awarded the Medal of Honor and the first group of Medal of Honor recipients were escorted to the White House to meet with President Abraham Lincoln.
Parrott, born in Ross County but long-time resident of Kenton, was a private in Company K, 33rd Ohio Volunteer Infantry. The original medal Medal of Honor Parrott received is now housed West Point Museum located just outside the gates of the United States Military Academy in West Point, New York.
The mural is the work of painter Scott Hagan who painted each of the 88 Ohio Bicentennial Barns. Scott employed the hand painting techniques he has developed over several years and used a design formulated by Columbus-area graphic designer David Browning.
The Ohio History Connection has partnered with local organizations across the state to complete a series of Ohio History Barns. These murals showcase Ohioans of distinction and Ohio accomplishments, historic sites and events, and state symbols. Earlier ones include President Rutherford B. Hayes (Sandusky County), Annie Oakley (Darke County), Zoar Village Bicentennial (Tuscarawas County), Massillon Tigers vs. Canton-McKinley Football Rivalry (Stark County), Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry (Ottawa County) and Tecumseh (Greene County). The Ohio History Connection plans to continue this project with other barns across Ohio. For more information about the program, contact Stephen George at 614.425.6947 or email@example.com.
*Unveiling date is weather dependent and subject to change.
Ohio History Connection
The Ohio History Connection, formerly the Ohio Historical Society, is a statewide history organization with the mission to spark discovery of Ohio’s stories. As a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization chartered in 1885, the Ohio History Connection carries out history services for Ohio and its citizens focused on preserving and sharing the state’s history. This includes housing the state historic preservation office, the official state archives, local history office and managing sites and museums across Ohio. For more information on programs and events, visit ohiohistory.org.
October 12, 2018 - 3:00 pm
Powered by Yendif Technologies